Back in 1832 a circuit rider (a priest that travelled to various communities) began making Port Perry a stop as he came from Oshawa on his way to Uxbridge. Monthly meetings started around 1840 at Deighton's Corners (now Prince Albert). At first services were held in people's homes, but relocated to the J.W. Davis Furniture shop (now Wagg Funeral Home) and then the Mechanic's Institute Building.
The current church was completed in 1869 and services began on February 28th of that year.
The Rectory, which sits nestled in the L shape of the sactuary and the church hall, was built in 1905 and remains to this day the primary residence of the parish priest.